## AFFIDAVIT DISABLED PARKING SPACE

## REQUIREMENTS TO DISMISS DISABLED PARKING SPACE VIOLATION

A person who has a disabled permit is entitled to park in a disabled parking space or a stroller space. A person who has a valid disabled permit, and who was given a citation for violation 15(disabled space) or violation 19(stroller), can submit a copy of the permit registration, an affidavit that the permit owner was present at the time of the violation, and a \$7.50 fee for a statutory dismissal.

According to Florida Statute 316.1955(7)a, it is unlawful for any person to stop, stand, or park a vehicle within any such specially designated and marked parking space provided in accordance with this section, unless the vehicle displays a disabled parked permit . . . and the vehicle is transporting the person to whom the displayed permit is issued."

A person may avoid the civil penalty for certain violations of disabled parking whereby, according to F.S. 318.18(6), the person provides:

- A copy of the <u>permit registration showing the owner's name and address that was valid at the time</u> <u>the violation occurred</u> and
- A photocopy of the owner's driver's license
- A signed <u>affidavit</u> that the owner of the disabled parking permit was present at the time the violation occurred and
- \$7.50 dismissal fee.

Upon provision of proof of a valid parking permit, the affidavit, and the \$7.50 dismissal fee to the Clerk of the Court, the clerk shall dismiss the citation. I, \_\_\_\_\_\_, hereby state that I am the owner of a disabled parking permit or disabled license plate number #\_\_\_\_\_\_, and that I was present when the violation occurred as noted by parking citation #\_\_\_\_\_\_ issued on \_\_\_\_\_ (date) at \_\_\_\_\_ a.m./p.m. (time) to license tag #\_\_\_\_\_ State\_\_\_\_. My Driver's License or State ID # is \_\_\_\_\_\_. Pursuant to Florida Statute 92.525, under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have read the forgoing affidavit and the facts stated in it are true. (Signature of the owner of disabled permit) (Print Name) Date (Address) (City) (State) (Zip) (Area Code) (Phone Number) Given by:\_\_\_ 

Registration Attached

USE ONLY FOR PARKING VIOLATION CODES 15, or 19