
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 

  If I received a Boating Citation, what do I do? To satisfy this 
citation, please carefully review the options available in this guide. 
 How long do I have to satisfy my citation?  You have thirty (30) 
days to pay your citation.  Failure to notify the clerk of one of the 
options listed in this guide within thirty (30) days from the date the 
citation was issued, will result in a $20 penalty and a hearing date will 
be set before a Judge. 
 Can I get an extension of time to pay? No extension of time is 
given to pay.  Payments are expected within thirty (30) days from the 
date the citation was issued. 
 If I disagree with the charge(s), may I request to see the judge?   
Yes, see Option 2 for further instructions. 
 Will this citation affect my driver license?  No, this citation will 
not affect your driver license and no points will be applied against 
your license.   

 
MANDATORY EDUCATION FOR VIOLATORS 

 
Florida State Statute section 327.731 requires that anyone 
convicted of the following boating violations (see below) will 
be mandated to complete a boating safety course. 

 
- Any non-criminal boating infraction resulting in a boating 

accident. 
- Any two boating safety infractions listed below within a 

12 month period: 
- Careless operation 
- Water skiing, aquaplaning, parasailing, and similar 
activities 

- Interference with navigation 
- Violating boating-restricted area and speeds limits 
- Required safety equipment, lights, and shapes  
- Violating navigation rules in a way that does not result 
in an accident or that results in an accident not causing 
serious bodily harm or death 

- Personal watercraft violations 
- Boater safety education violations 
- Operating overloaded or overpowered vessels 
- Divers-down warning devices 
- Adequate muffler on airboat 
- Display of flag on airboat 
- Carelessly causing Seagrass scarring 

- Violating springs protection zones 

Note: The FWC may provide a waiver of the 
attendance requirement for violator’s residing 

where a classroom course is not available. 
 

Florida Fish & Wildlife Conservation Commission 
Boating Safety Section 
620 South Meridian St 

Tallahassee, FL 32399-1600 
(850) 488-5600 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 
 
If you were cited with a violation(s) listed below, you may be eligible for 
a clerk’s dismissal if proof of compliance was valid before the date of 
the citation.   
 
327.395 (1) Proof of Boating I.D.  
328.72 (13) Proof of Vessel Registration 
379.354  Hunting/Fishing License Violation 
 

Provide a copy of the valid item(s) with a copy of your citation, and 
$10.00 dismissal fee to:  The Miami-Dade County, Clerk of Court, 1351 
NW 12th Street, #8100, Miami, FL 33125.  If document was not valid 
before the citation was issued, you must pay the full amount of the 
citation. 
 
If the citation is not in the system and you are unable to process your 
p a y m e n t  by phone, you are still responsible to satisfy the citation 
within 30 days of the issue date either by mail or in person: 
 
You can view future hearing dates online 24 hours a day/7 days a week.  
Please use the court case number and visit: 
https://www.miamidadeclerk.gov/clerk/boating-
information.page                                                                                                         
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT: Qualified 
individuals requiring an ADA accommodation may 
contact Aliean Simpkins, the Court ADA Coordinator at 
Telephone (305) 349-7175; TDD (305) 349-7174, Email 
ADA@jud11.flcourts.org or via Fax at (305) 349-7355. 
Individuals who are hearing or voice impaired may 
contact the telephone number listed via the Florida Relay 
Service at 1-800-955-8771, or by dialing 711. Certain 
Traffic information and services are also available on-line 
at www.miamidadeclerk.gov. Please note, at least 7 days 
advance notice is required when scheduling Sign 
Language Interpreters. This document is available in 
alternate formats upon request. 

 

 
  

Miami-Dade County Boating Mailer 

 
INSTRUCTIONS 

Failure to notify the clerk of one of the options listed 
in this guide within thirty (30) days from the date the 
citation was issued will result in a $20 late penalty 
and a hearing date will be set before a Judge. 
 

 
In order to avoid delays and long lines at the court- 
house, please dial (305) 275-1155. The phone lines are 
available Monday - Friday/9:00-4:00p.m.   Please wait 
15 days from the date you receive the citation before 
selecting the above services. 

********* NOTE ********* 
If the citation is not in the system and you are unable to 
process your p a y m e n t  by phone, you are still 
responsible to satisfy the citation within 30 days of issue 
date either by mail or in person: 

SEND PAYMENT AND/OR CORRESPONDENCE 

TO: MIAMI-DADE COUNTY                                              
CLERK OF COURTS                                             

1351 NW 12 St, Room 8100                           
MIAMI, FL 33101-9321                                         

Deputy Clerks are available to assist you in person at any of the following locations 
from 9 AM to 4 PM, Monday to Friday. The Joseph Caleb, North Dade, and South 
Dade Justice Centers have extended hours from 9 AM to 8 PM on Thursdays and 
from 9 AM to 1 PM on Saturdays.   

• North Dade Justice Center, 15555 Biscayne Blvd, Miami  
• Coral Gables, 3100 Ponce de Leon, Coral Gables 
• Richard E. Gerstein Building, 1351 NW 12th St., #18100, Miami  
• Joseph Caleb Center, 5400 NW 22nd Ave., #103, Miami 
• Miami Beach, 1130 Washington Ave., Miami Beach (Temporarily Closed for 

Renovations) 
• South Dade Justice Center, 10710 SW 211th St., Cutler Bay 
• Hialeah, 11 East 6th St., Hialeah 

WARNING NOTICE 
Pursuant to F.S. (327.73), Any person who fails to appear or otherwise 
properly respond to a uniform boating citation shall in addition to the 
charge relating to the violation of the boating laws of this state, be 
charged with the offense of failing to respond to such citation and, 
upon conviction, be guilty of a misdemeanor of the second degree. 

 

https://www.miamidadeclerk.gov/clerk/boating-information.page
https://www.miamidadeclerk.gov/clerk/boating-information.page


OPTIONS TO SATISFY YOUR CITATION 

OPTION 1 – Pay civil penalty 
PAYABLE INFRACTIONS 
PENALTIES:                       Within 30 Days   After 30 Days 
 
Unnumbered/Unregistered Vessel 123.00 143.00 
Registration Number Display  123.00 143.00 
Vessel/Registration Certificate 123.00 143.00 
Registration Decal Display  123.00 143.00 
Expired Registration  123.00 143.00 
Careless Operation   140.00 160.00 
Waterski and similar activities 140.00 160.00 
Interference with Navigation  140.00 160.00 
Manatee/Speed Zone  140.00 160.00 
Boating Safety Equipment  140.00 160.00 
Navigation Lights   140.00 160.00 
Personal Watercraft/Lifevest  140.00 160.00 
Marine Sanitation/Equipment  123.00 143.00 
Marine Sanitation/Discharge  290.00 310.00 
Boating Safety ID Card  140.00 160.00  
Overloaded/Overpowered vessel 140.00 160.00 
Divers Down Flag   140.00 160.00 
Flag Display on Airboat  140.00 160.00      
Seagrass Scarring*   140.00 160.00            
 
OTHER: 
 
Fishing/Hunting License  72.00 *  **  
State Park Violation  80.00 *  *** 
BUI/Refusal to Submit/Breath 500.00  
 
 
Note: Fines are subject to change depending on the 
following: 
 
 
*Subsequent violations can result in larger fine amounts 
**Fine amount varies depending on type of required   
    License 
***Fine amount varies depending on type of violation 
 
 
 
 

 
 

OPTION 2 – Request a trial on the violation 
If it is determined that an infraction has been committed, the 
Court may impose a civil penalty not to exceed $500.00* in 
addition to applicable court costs.  To make your request, fax 
the completed attached WRITTEN PLEA OF NOT 
GUILTY FORM to 305-548-5415, or mail the attached 
WRITTEN PLEA OF NOT GUILTY FORM to the 
attention of the Clerk of Court, 1351 NW 12th Street, #8100, 
Miami, FL 33125. 

 

WRITTEN PLEA OF NOT GUILTY FORM 
1. Mail a copy of your citation with this form to the 

Miami-Dade County, Clerk of Courts. 

2. To avoid late fees, your Written Plea of Not Guilty 
Form must be received in this office WITHIN 30 
DAYS of the issue date of the citation. 

3. Sign your request on the line provided. 

PLEASE PRINT 

 

Citation Number (s)              

 

Last Name                               First Name                        Middle Name 

 

Date of Birth                                

Comes now the defendant in the above styled cause individually and 
informs the court that I hereby enter my plea of NOT GUILTY. 

 

 

Signature                                                                   Date 

CHANGE OF ADDRESS FORM 
 

We must have your current address to notify you of your court 
date.  If your address is different from the address listed on 
your citation, please complete the information below.  

 

Street Address                                                         Apt. # 

 

City                                      State                       Zip Code 

 

 

 

PAYMENT FORM 
Mail your copy of the citation(s) with this form. 
You may pay by check or money order, in U.S. 
funds. Please make check or money order payable 
to CLERK OF COURTS.  DO NOT SEND CASH. 

 

PLEASE PRINT 

 
Last Name                                   First Name                   Middle Name 
 
 
Street Address                                                                            Apt. # 
 
 
City                                                       State                        Zip Code 
 
 
Area Code                      Telephone Number 
 
Citation Numbers                                                   Amount Paid 
 
                                                                        $ 
 
 

 

 

            

_____________________________             ____________________ 

 

 Check           Money Order              TOTAL $  

CREDIT CARD PAYMENT 
 

We honor only VISA, AMERICAN EXPRESS, MASTERCARD and 
DISCOVER CARD. 

 
  

                                            
 

Due to changes in credit card security and for our 
customer’s protection, we no longer accept credit card 
payments through the mail.  You can save on postage 
and time waiting in line by PAYING BY PHONE with a 
credit card, please dial (305) 275-1155.  

The phone lines are available Monday - Friday/9:00-
4:00p.m. Please wait 15 days from the date you receive 
the citation before selecting the above services. 
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