Skip to main content
Juan Fernandez-Barquin, ESQ.
Clerk of the Court and Comptroller
Miami-Dade County

Declaration of Domicile

Florida Statute §222.17 states that a person can show intent to maintain a Florida residence as a permanent home by filing a sworn Declaration of Domicile with the Clerk of the Courts.

You can submit the form with all the requirements by mail or in person at Miami-Dade County Courthouse East.

If paying in person at Courthouse East, the fees are payable to the Clerk of the Courts by credit card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, or Discover), with a government issued identification, Money Order, Cashier’s Check, or cash. Personal or Company checks are not accepted.

If submitting by mail, only Money Orders or Cashier’s checks are accepted.

The turnaround time is approximately four weeks to receive it back after sending it to the Recorder’s Office.


  • Identification, if resident alien green card number must be placed on the form
    • For naturalized citizens, the certificate number must be on the form
  • A self-addressed stamped envelope must be provided in person or by mail
  • The application must be notarized prior to submission to the County Recorder's Office
  • Fee: $10 recording fee, $3 for a certified copy

You are now leaving the official website of the Miami-Dade Clerk of Court and Comptroller. Please be aware that when you exit this site, you are no longer protected by our privacy or security policies. The Miami-Dade Clerk of Court and Comptroller is not responsible for the content provided on linked sites. The provision of links to external sites does not constitute an endorsement.

Please click 'OK' to be sent to the new site, or Click 'Cancel' to go back.