Under Florida statutes, a civil infraction is a case in which a person is suspected of committing a non-criminal traffic infraction. These violations are classified as either moving or non-moving. A moving violation normally assesses points against the driver license while non-moving violations do not. These violations are not punishable by incarceration and there is no right to trial by jury or to court-appointed counsel.
Upon receipt of a traffic citation issued to you for a civil infraction, you have 30 days from the date of issuance to satisfy your obligation. In order to satisfy your citation, you can:
- Pay the citation
- Elect traffic school
- Request a court hearing
Failure to satisfy your citation(s) by following one of the options within 30 days of the issue date will result in late fees and the suspension of your driver license.
Search, Order Certified Copies or Make a Payment
by using Visa, Discover, MasterCard or American Express.
You can pay by mail with a check or money order to:
Clerk of the Court and Comptroller
PO BOX 19321
Miami, Florida 33101-9321
Please note - Your license may be suspended by the state of Florida if the Clerk's Office receives your payment more than 30 days from the issue date.
Contact the Traffic/Misdemeanor Division 24-hour Interactive Voice Response System at 305-275-1111.
Please wait 24 hours after the payment was received for the information to appear in our system. You can verify if a payment was received online or by using our automated phone service.
- Joseph Caleb Center Court
- Coral Gables District Court
- Hialeah District Court
- Miami Beach District Court
- North Dade Justice Center
- South Dade Justice Center
- Richard E. Gerstein Justice Building
Please note to enroll, there is a $25 payment plan fee.
Please refer to the scenario that applies to your case:
- Your citation was issued within the last 30 days: You may submit a request for trial either in person, by mail, by phone or online within 30 days of the citation’s issue date. You will receive notice of your hearing date, time and location within six to eight weeks at the address listed on the citation.
- Your citation was issued between 31 and 180 days ago: You may pay a $16.00 late fee to have your case set for court. This fee can be paid either online, in person, by mail or by phone.
- Your citation was issued more than 180 days ago: In order to have your case set for court, you must submit a motion to the administrative traffic judge. The motion should state why you failed to comply with your citation on time and that you are requesting to have your case set for court. If your driver's license is or is about to be suspended be aware that the filing of this motion will have no effect on your driver's license suspension until the judge grants your motion. You should receive a response from the judge by mail and it may take up to three weeks to receive this response. If the judge grants your motion, you will need to pay a fee at the Clerk's Office.
If You Cannot Attend Court
Citations that Require Compliance
- Driver's license (expired less than four months)
- PIP insurance
- Defective equipment
These violations will be dismissed if you submit proof that BEFORE the citation was issued you had valid documentation. A dismissal fee is required.
If renewal was obtained after the issuance of the citation, submit proof of the renewed document along with the amount of the civil penalty. This payment option is available on tag, registration, PIP insurance violations and on driver's license violations if license was expired for four months or less.
If you are charged with a violation of Florida Statute 316.2935 or 316.610 "Improper or Unsafe Equipment," you may receive a reduced penalty on these violations if you repair the defect within 30 days of the issue date. Send written proof within 30 days that the defect has been corrected. A civil penalty is required.
SUBMITTING PROOF OF COMPLIANCE AND OTHER COURT RELATED DOCUMENTS
1. Pay civil penalty within 30 days (points)
2. Attend driver improvement school within 30 days (no points)
3. Request a trial by a hearing officer or judge within 30 days
Note: Total payment includes fine, court costs and fees
- Pedestrian/bicycle violation - $77.50
- Child restraint violation - $179
- Failure to stop for a school bus - $384
- Passing school bus Photo Enforced - $344
- Illegal parking in disabled spaces - $196
- Moving (except speeding & failure to stop at traffic signal) Ch. 316 - $179
- Spectator to a drag race - $244
- Non-moving-Chapter 316 - $129
- Seat belt violations - $129
- Toll facility violations - $149
- Failure to move or slow down for an emergency vehicle - $149
- Illegal railroad crossing - $219
- Driving all-terrain vehicle without a helmet - $124
- Farm Labor Vehicle/Notice not displayed - $199
- Farm Labor Vehicle/Equipment violation - $299
- Failure to stop at a red traffic signal - $277
- Moving-Chapters 320 & 322 - $176
- Non-moving-Chapters 320 & 322 - $129
- Speeding 6-9 MPH - $144
- Speeding 10-14 MPH - $219
- Speeding 15-19 MPH - $269
- Speeding 20-29 MPH - $294
- Speeding 30 MPH and over - $369
- Speeding in Marked School Zone - Photo Enforcement in Excess of 10MPH over Limit - $219
- Speeding in School/Construction zone 1-5 MPH - $169
- Speeding in School/Construction zone 6-9 MPH - $169
- Speeding in School/Construction zone 10-14 MPH - $319
- Speeding in School/Construction zone 15-19 MPH - $419
- Speeding in School/Construction zone 20-29 MPH - $469
- Speeding in School/Construction zone >= 30 MPH - $619
- Renewing DL/tag/registration - $129
- Renewing Insurance - $129
- Unsafe equipment - $109
- Late charges for payments after 30 days - Add'l $16
- Additional maximum fine for injury or damage to the blind - $250
- Dismissal fee or repairing defect - $10
- License reinstatement - $60
- Preparing and releasing D-6 - $7
- Appeal to circuit court - $281
- Examining, comparing, correcting, verifying & certifying transcripts - $5
- In appellate proceedings, per page, Preparing, numbering & indexing original record of appellate proceedings, per instrument - $3.50
- Verifying an instrument prepared by someone other than clerk - $3.50
- Writing paper other than specifically mentioned, same as for copying, including signing and sealing - $7
- Oath, administering, attesting and sealing - $3.50
- Validating certificates - $3.50
- Preparing affidavit of domicile - $5
- Exemplified clerk certificates, including signing and sealing - $7
- Authenticated clerk certificates, including signing and sealing - $7
- Issuing and filing subpeona for a witness, including signing & sealing - $7
- Signing and sealing subpeona - $2
- Searching records, each year - $2
- Payment plan fee - $25
- Certified or registered mail postal charges - Cost
- Non-sufficient funds: <= $50 - $25
- Non-sufficient funds: $50.01 to $300 - $30
- Non-sufficient funds: > $300 - >of $40 or 5% of check
- Interest Rates on Final Judgments - October 1, 2023 - December 31, 2023 - 8.54%